It would be a perfect world if a negligent driver’s insurance company paid all the medical bills of the injured party in a timely and professional manner. Unfortunately, we know that is not what happens in the real world. Claims are delayed, minimized, and outright denied. Car accident victims are tricked into signing away their rights and then left with exorbitant bills they can’t pay because their capacity to work has been diminished. The Bart Bernard team of Minden personal injury lawyers understand the odds you face and the best chances for recovery. Trust in our expertise and multi-million-dollar track record to settle your claim quickly, effectively, and for top dollar.
How Much Does A Car Accident Lawyer Cost?
We understand that money is a big concern following a serious or catastrophic injury. As a successful personal injury firm, we can afford to offer you FREE CONSULTATIONS and CONTINGENCY-BASED representation. That means, we pay all the upfront costs associated with investigating the accident, securing witness testimony, and preparing an effective claim – and you owe $0 if your case does not result in compensation. If you do receive a settlement or jury award, we ask that you pay a standard legal fee (typically a third of the total), as stated in your contract agreement. This way, securing top legal representation, to level the playing field, costs you nothing. Plaintiffs represented by Minden personal injury lawyers typically see much larger payouts than pro se litigants, so you have everything to gain.
When Will My Personal Injury Case Be Resolved?
Multiple factors influence how a case proceeds. Your car accident lawyers may need more time to determine the full extent of your injuries and success of your recovery before engaging in serious discussions with the opposition. Naturally, you want to recover the maximum compensation that will cover unforeseen complications. The vast majority of claims do resolve relatively early, through settlement talks with the insurance company. A trial could take several months or more than a year to resolve, depending on the clarity of liability, how much discovery is necessary, how busy that particular court is, and the willingness of the opposition to settle. You will receive a realistic estimate based on the unique circumstances of your case during a free consultation with a personal injury attorney.
How Will Louisiana Laws Affect My Case?
Louisiana has several laws that may affect how much financial compensation you receive.
Mandated Insurance: The driver “at fault” for causing the accident must pay for all injuries. Louisiana requires $15,000 in bodily injury to one person, $30,000 for injuries to two or more people per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. If your losses go above these limits, you can file a lawsuit.
Comparative Fault: Louisiana’s comparative fault law allows a reduction of your compensation if it was determined you were partially to blame for causing the accident.
Statute of Limitations: Louisiana allows up to ONE YEAR from the state of the car accident to file a civil lawsuit. If you fail to file your claim in time, you may forfeit your right to compensation. Exceptions may apply to minors, those with latent injuries, and cases of hit-and-run where more investigation is required to determine the other driver’s identity.
Proudly Serving Webster Parish
Bart Bernard proudly serves Webster Parish, Louisiana, including the more than 13,000 residents of Minden. All too often, speeding, police chases, and impaired driving are preventable factors in our local crashes. When negligence or recklessness causes a motor vehicle accident, contacting Minden personal injury lawyers proves the best chance at recovering losses like medical bills, property damage, lost wages, and an estimated amount of “pain and suffering.” Be Smart. Get Bart. ™