The Seven Sister Cities of Lafayette

Seven Sister Cities of Lafayette

Lafayette, Louisiana has seven sister cities. The sister program, introduced by President Eisenhower in 1956, allows cities, counties, and states to link up with the citizens of other countries to promote cultural and commercial ties. Below is a list of Lafayette’s seven sister cities. 

  • Le Cannet, Alpes-Maritimes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, France

Le Cannet is a commune located north of Cannes in the French Riviera. The cities celebrated their relationship with the exhibit Pierre Bonnard: Landscapes from Lannet at The Paul and Lulu Hillard University Art Museum.  Le Cannet, twinned with Lafayette on May 26, 1967, was Lafayette’s first sister city. 

  • Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

Longueuil is located in Quebec on the south shore of the Saint Lawrence River directly across from Montreal. It is the fifth most populous city in Quebec. Longueuil was twinned with Lafayette on December 3, 1968. 

  • Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada

The cities celebrated there twinning with the unveiling of a mural on a Moncton building created by Lafayette artist Robert Dafford and commissioned by the city of Moncton and the Lafayette Consolidated Government.  Moncton was twinned with Lafayette on October 19, 1971. 

  • Poitiers, Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France

Poitiers is located in west-central France on the Clain River. Lafayette and Poitiers have a closely linked culture and history. Most of the Acadians left the Poitou-Charentes region in the 17th century. In 1998, Poitiers and Lafayette created an annual international golf competition, The Acadiana Cup, to link the sister cities and promote exchanges in culture and trade. Poitiers was twinned with Lafayette on April 22, 1975. 

  • Namur, Wallonia, Belgium

Namur is located in Belgium, where the Sambre and Meuse rivers meet. In October of 2015, a delegation from Namur visited Lafayette and presented on their approach to public parks and offered their expertise in the planning of Moncus Park.  More recently, a delegation from Namur visited Lafayette to celebrate their sister city status in April 2018. Namur was twinned with Lafayette on June 19, 1979. 

  • Agnibilékrou, Ivory Coast

Agnibilékrou is a town located in the eastern Ivory Coast. The Ivory Coast was a French colony until it achieved independence in 1960. Agnibilékrou was twinned with Lafayette on October 5, 1999. 

  • Centla, Mexico

Centla is a municipality located in Tabasco in south-eastern Mexico. Centla and Lafayette have been working together as sister cities, especially in the areas fields of education and oil. For example, in 2015, officials from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette joined leaders from the Instituto Technologico Superior de Centla to sign an agreement to collaborate in the areas of higher education with a focus on STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics). Centla, twinned with Lafayette on November 4, 2013, is Lafayette’s most recent sister city.  

If you live in Lafayette and are looking for a personal injury attorney, call Bart Bernard Injury Lawyers. The attorneys at Bart Bernard Injury Lawyers are experts in personal injury law, including car, motorcycle, and 18-wheeler accidents. Call or visit our website to schedule your free, private consultation with The People’s Trial Lawyer™.   



Table of Contents

Don’t Stop Here

More To Explore